I Wonder What They Think

Proverbs 29:25 – “It is dangerous to be concerned with what others think of you, but if you trust the Lord, you are safe.”

As a teenager, I constantly worried about what those around me thought of me. Even worse, what they were saying about me when I wasn’t around?  I don’t think as an adolescent teenager I was much different than most of the other kids.  It was easy to hurt my feelings over what I thought others were saying or thinking of me.

Then one day, I found in the scripture that I shouldn’t worry about what others say or think of me. I mean, what was important was what God thought of me.  And what I thought of myself.

lion.jpgLong after adolescence, many continue to struggle with a poor self concept derived from what others think or say.  I believe it’s important that we do nothing that would hinder another from following Christ by our words or conduct.

But at the same time, we’ve been set free by Christ Jesus who has paid a price for us. We are no longer servants of the law, but rather we are servants of Christ. For us, the gospel is liberty. We are to no longer be enslaved by the weight of the law.

Scripture tells us that listening to what others say and think about us is dangerous because it creates doubt, and it damages any confidence that we have in who we are as children of God.  The weight of doubt is probably actually the greatest weapon Satan has to use against us.

Today, examine what is holding you down emotionally and otherwise in your life.  Most often, it’s going to be seated in the form of doubt.  These are seeds that Satan plants in us from others and even from ourselves when we don’t reside in the confidence that Christ gives us.

Today, when you find yourself approached by what others say, be quick to claim the confidence that Christ has provided you. You are a reflection of Christ.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

