Send Me

Isaiah 6:8 – Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?” I said, “Here I am. Send me.”

Sunday afternoon, we went to the Rays baseball game. We had some rather high up seats close to the press box, but for me, any seats to watch baseball are good seats.  When we climbed toward our seats, we had to walk past a family of four with two small children, a girl around the age of five and a boy probably somewhere around three.

ray

By the third inning, the kids were over the top in cotton candy and soft drinks. The little boy was sitting to my left. I don’t know that he ever actually touched his rear end to the seat! He was bouncing up and down and all over, and even off my shoulder! It was amazing.

The dad was intensely wanting to watch this baseball game which  I’m sure he found to be a real treat. But Mom was overwhelmed. She was terrified that the kids were going to drop their food and beverage on other people that were sitting in front of us or to the side.

I thought the whole thing was rather fun to watch, but at some point I realized that the young mother was overwhelmed.  I also realized that we possibly missed a great opportunity to minister. We could have easily engaged them in conversation and acceptance. Ultimately, I don’t think they made it to the sixth inning. I know I was tired.

Opportunities to minister are gifts from God. He places people in our path and way for a reason. To be conversational. To be kind. To be supportive. To give an opportunity for others to tell of their woes and wishes.

So even during your time of relaxation and recreation, you need to listen for the opportunities of God to minister.  For a young family, that attention may make a difference.

Don’t forget to say “send me”.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

