I Gave at the Office

Luke 6:38 – “Give, and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full—pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back.”

Last weekend, I was in St. Petersburg doing some chores.  I was out and about, and I went first to the Ace Hardware Store. When I made my payment at the cash register, the young cashier asked me if I’d like to donate my change to a well-known charity. I said sure.  I then went to McDonald’s, and when I got to the drive-up window, the young cashier asked me if I wanted to donate my change to their charity.  On the way home that day, I stopped by Wendy’s, and they, too, asked me to donate my change to their charity.

officeI must say, by the time I got to Wendy’s, I wasn’t feeling very charitable.  I guess this is the new thing to ask for your change to give to charity.

The scripture that we have for today is probably one of the more controversial and abused. The idea that if I just give something then I’m going to get something back has often been misapplied to create a get-rich-quick scheme. And what’s worse, it’s a get rich quick money maker that is guaranteed by God.

But there is still real truth in this scripture. For us as believers, God has promised us that our gifts will not fail to come back to us. The blessings that come back to us, though, are not necessarily money, but they are blessings nonetheless.

Today, don’t be afraid to claim the promise God has provided us that we should give, and that in so doing, He will bless us abundantly.

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

