Happy In Jesus

1 John 2:5-6 – “But those who obey God’s word truly show how completely they love him. That is how we know we are living in him. Those who say they live in God should live their lives as Jesus did.”

I have very few absolutes in life. It doesn’t mean that I don’t have values. It just means what is truly important as guiding principles in my life are just that. They are absolute. Many know what I mean – those absolutes in our lives that can’t be waived or changed.

obeyAs believers, one principle that I believe holds true is that I can’t be happy in Jesus unless I obey His word and spirit. Looking back on my life since the age of 11 when I gave my heart to Jesus Christ and accepted him as my personal savior, I can see without exception that those times that were the happiest and I was most content was when I was following and obeying Christ.

The times when I look back and say I didn’t obey Christ were exactly the opposite. When you give your heart to Jesus Christ, you become a new creature. All things have passed away, and all things become new.

That’s exactly why we can’t be happy unless we are obeying Christ. When we are not obeying, when we are not following, we are in a place that we don’t belong.  The Bible refers to us as strangers in a foreign land.

I remember the words to an old church hymn:

“Trust and obey, because there’s no other way, to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.”

I pray that today you’ll commit to trusting in His guidance and control all day long. By doing so, you are in effect saying, “I love you Lord.”

Have a blessed day.

~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

