Just Fishing

Matthew 4:19-20 – “And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.  And they straightway left their nets, and followed him.”
Alex
As a youngster, I just loved to fish. I could lie on the bank of my favorite stream for hours and dream of catching the big one.  I don’t believe I’ve ever met any young boy who didn’t share that same enthusiasm and passion.
Yesterday I had the opportunity to take my grandson fishing. Alex did not disappoint us. He caught not one but two Maui!  I caught one, but he got off at the edge of the boat.  I almost forgot the thrill of catching a fish.
Jesus told his fishing friends, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  I can’t help but to think  that maybe Jesus was considering the emotional rush of fishing in his analogy.
My prayer is that  God will bless us each with a new enthusiasm about being a fisher of men. To be excited about holding another soul for Christ that you helped catch.  Now those are real trophies for Christ that are eternal.
Have a blessed weekend.~Dean Burnetti

Leave a Reply

