I Messed Up

1 John 2:1 – “My dear children, I am writing this to you so that you will not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate who pleads our case before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who is truly righteous.” 
 
It’s always hard when you travel abroad to be relaxed during the travel time.  Last week, I did a very good job on my way to Mexico.  At customs, the young lady who interviewed me gave me a good chewing out about not following entry process correctly.  I smiled and was determined to be a gentleman and a good Christian. I did a great job and actually had her smiling at me by the end.
 
global-entry-benefits
On the way back home, it happened again. When I got to the airport at Cancun, someone from immigration gave me a good chewing out again.  At least it felt like a chewing out.  I did a great job again, and I made them smile eventually.
 
But then I got back to the United States and was coming through immigration in  Orlando.  I was having a hard time determining which aisle I was supposed to walk down.  So were other people standing beside me and behind me.  Finally, a gentleman from immigration jumped out in front and started screaming at us to go down this aisle or go down that aisle.  He was loud and a little on the obnoxious side.  
 
I think I just finally had it.  I quickly told him that he did not need to yell at me!  I just wasn’t going to put up with it.  He definitely was not smiling when I walked away.  Finally, I felt vindicated.  I got my vengeance. 
 
Later though, I started to think, was that really the right thing for me to do?  I surely wasn’t going to tell him about Jesus when I got done chewing him out.   One thing is for sure, no matter how good I am or how hard I try, I will eventually fall short.
 
The wonderful truth we possess as Christians is that we have an advocate acting on our behalf even when we fall short.  Jesus Christ himself says He is our advocate and He is pleading our case constantly before the Father in heaven.
 
Christ is your biggest advocate.  He never gives up on you.
 
Have a blessed day.
 
~Dean Burnetti
Leave a Reply

