What’s on the Top of Your List?

1 Timothy 6:9‭-‬10 – “But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the true faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.”

Last night, for the first time in a long time, I started to exercise. I had shoulder surgery back in July, and the complications associated with it took me on a long journey. I thought it was going to be very simple just like when I was younger and had knee surgery, but within a short time, I developed an infection which was a struggle. But even in the face of that trouble, I knew I could overcome because I had plans and an agenda for the future.

We all have our agendas. Sometimes, we consider them to be priorities. Other times, we actually think of them as our goals. The question for each of us is often one that you don’t want to really answer and that is: What is the number one goal or priority in your life?”

When I was younger, I often thought it had to do with my professional success. And even sometimes, that reached into a realm of thinking about monetary gain. Professional achievement brings temporal satisfaction, but It never lasts long.

For us as believers, the number one priority is to serve God. To strive to become more like Christ everyday of our existence.

listofpriorities

Today, take time to ask yourself, “What is my first priority in life?” If your answer is to serve Christ, to be more like Him every day, you are where you need to be. That passion should be the number one priority for each of us as believers. Anything other than that, and you are seeking to place things in your basket that could be nothing more than perishables.

Place Christ first, and I’m convinced all else will find it’s correct priority. 

Remember the words of Paul: “For me, to live is Christ.”

Today, make your walk with Him first and the cares of this world will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.

Stay healthy and have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti 

Leave a comment