It Tastes Different

Psalm 37:4 – “Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

At some point in time, each and every one of us have probably fantasized about what it would be like to win the lottery. In Florida, you can’t drive for very far, listen to the radio, or watch the TV without being confronted by the current jackpot that’s coming up almost every day of the week in some form or another.

LotteryFor me, it’s when the grand prize tops that $150 million that I find myself pondering the “What if I won?” fantasy. I think about all the wonderful things I could do for everyone around me. Every grandchild would have a trust fund, and everyone’s mortgage would be paid. Patti would get her dream car, and I would get that perfect pickup truck.

In today’s scripture, the psalmist tells us to take delight in the Lord and He will give us all the desires of our heart. It almost sounds too good to be believed. I mean, I don’t have all the desires of my heart. I have lots of stuff I’d like to buy. I have lots of things I’d like to achieve. Plus, I want to travel and go many places.

So is the psalmist really correct? For the believer, when our delight is in the Lord, we are changed.  When we’re centered in praise, prayer, and worship, the desires of our heart are different. As you conform yourself to the image of Christ, your taste buds change.
When you are in a right place with God, you realize everything that I want, the Lord has given me. Everything that I want, I know He will provide.

So, yes, place your delight in the Lord. Bring your spirit together with Him, and everything that you want will truly be yours.

Today, don’t forget your prayer and praise time. Spend your day in constant communication with the Lord. You will be different, and your taste buds will not be the same.

Have a blessed day!

~Dean Burnetti

One thought on “It Tastes Different

Leave a Reply

